Log in

2023 Innovation in Language Program Direction Award Winners

11 Dec 2023 6:06 PM | Mandy Menke (Administrator)

AAUSC is pleased to announce the 2023 recipients of the Innovation in Language Program Direction Award. Awardees are listed in no particular order:

  • Virtual Intergenerational Service-Learning Exchanges: Advancing Language, Intercultural Learning, and Community Engagement 

Carolin Fuchs; Northeastern University, World Languages Center

  • Taking Ownership of the Curriculum: The Transformation of a Language Program

Alberto Bruzos Moro, Catalina Méndez Vallejo, Mariana Bono; Princeton University, Department of Spanish and Portuguese

  • Confluences Francophones

Patricia J Kyle; University of Texas at Austin, Department of French and Italian

  • Intercultural Competence & Chinese

Qingyu Yang; University of Rhode Island, Department of modern and classical languages and literatures 

  • Using ePortfolios and Virtual Reality to Promote the Study of Italian

Ryan Calabretta-Sajder; University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Dept. of World Languages, Literatures, & Cultures

Congratulations to the 2023 winners! We look forward to highlighting these projects in an upcoming AAUSC event.

A total of 18 projects were submitted for consideration, and the awards committee wants to recognize the innovative work being done across languages and programs. Proficiency; intercultural competence; justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion; technology; accessibility; engagement; and recruitment and retention were common themes across the projects that were submitted. Thank you to all who applied! 

Many thanks to the awards committee (Mahmoud Azaz, Kate Brooke, Senta Goertler, Ashlie Henery, Mandy Menke, Montserrat Mir, and Claudia Sánchez-Gutiérrez) for their time and thoughtful consideration of each project.

© 2019 AAUSC

AAUSC is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software